Wood Awards launches call for entries

The Wood Awards: Excellence in British Architecture and Product Design has launched its 2022 call for entries. Anyone involved in a UK-based wood project is invited to enter and has until 1 July 2022 to submit their applications. There's no entry fee.

Established in 1971, the Wood Awards recognises, encourages and promotes outstanding design, craftsmanship and installation throughout the UK. The Wood Awards’ elite independent judging panel not only judges all submitted entries but also visits the shortlisted projects in person, making the Wood Awards a uniquely rigorous competition.

The Awards are split into two main categories: 'Furniture & Product' and 'Buildings'. The Gold Award is given to the project that the judges deem to be the winner of winners.


'Magdalene College Library' – 2021 Gold Award winner

Jim Greaves of Hopkins Architects has been appointed as Chair of buildings judges – he comments: “I'm pleased to be asked to continue chairing the judges for the buildings panel. As the construction industry seeks to work in greater harmony, with our natural world, it's increasingly turning to wood as the material of choice. We see this reflected in the Wood Awards, where every year the standard for entries continues to climb. It's a great privilege to be able to assess, and learn from, the many exemplar projects being put forward for consideration.”

The 2022 buildings categories will be confirmed later this year, but they're likely to be 'Commercial & Leisure', 'Education & Public Sector', 'Interiors', 'Private' and 'Small Project'. Other awards, such as 'Structural' and 'Existing Building' awards, can be given at the judges’ discretion.

Design critic, curator and journalist Corinne Julius has returned as Chair of furniture judges. The 'Furniture & Product' competition will be split into 'Bespoke' and 'Production Made'. The 'Student Designer' category is being reintroduced in 2022 to celebrate the work of students after the disruption many experienced in previous years due to the COVID-19 pandemic.


'Iso-Lounge Chair' – Winner, 2021

With permission from the owner, anyone associated with a building or product completed in the last two years, can enter. Buildings must be located within the UK while furniture and other products must have been either designed or manufactured in the UK. Fitted furniture must be in the UK. There's no restrictions on the size or budget of a project. Entrants may submit more than one project. Entries must be submitted via www.woodawards.com.

The 2022 shortlist will be announced in September. The Wood Awards has ambitious plans for a novel and exciting finale to the competition, details of which will be announced in due course.

Enter your project now via www.woodawards.com/enter. You can also view the Wood Awards 2021 winners here: www.woodawards2021.online.

The Wood Awards
C/o Timber Development UK